The organ of the Magnuskerk (Anloo, NL) was built in 1717-1719 by Johannes Radeker and Rudolph Garrels, two co-workers of Arp Schnitger. It originally had 2 manuals with 17 stops and an attached pedal. A crest board attached in front of the organ displays the crests of the wealthy families that financed the organ.
In 1944-1950 the organ was modified by Mense Ruiter. From 1990 to 2002 it was restored/reconstructed by Henk van Eeken (Herwijnen, NL). The goal was the best possible reconstruction of the original state. As 1995 a workshop fire lead to the loss of a large proportion of the pipe work, the partial reconstruction of the organ became necessary. In 2002 the restored/reconstructed organ including an added four stop pedal was recommissioned. Through the restoration the original sound of the instrument could be regained to a great extent.
With regard to the quality of the restoration/reconstruction result, Henk van Eeken's cooperation with GOArt (Göteborg Organ Art Center) was of special importance. GOArt is an international research center for organ history, organ building, artistic education and performance practice of the University of Gothenburg in Sweden. Through scientific research it was possible to reconstruct historical organ building procedures and techniques.
The results of this work were applied to the restoration/reconstruction of the Anloo organ. That way it became possible for the first time to faithfully manufacture new organ pipes by reconstructing the original processes and techniques from 1717. For example, the organ metal was cast on sand and subsequently scraped down manually to the correct thickness. With a high degree of certainty the organ has also regained its original temperament and pitch from 1718 (following Arp Schnitger, St. Cosmae, Stade).

Watch Henk van Eekens's fascinating documentary 'The search for an organ sound as good as old' on YouTube (Dutch + English subtitles):

- [part 1/2]
- [part 2/2]



Quintadena 16 voet  
Principael 8 voet  
Roerpijp 8 voet  
Octav 4 voet  
Spitspijp 4 voet  
Quint 3 voet  
Super Octav 2 voet  
Sexquialter 2 sterk  
Mixtuir 4-5-6 sterk  
Trompet 8 voet  
Vox Humana 8 voet  
Gedackt 8 voet  
Floit 4 voet  
Octav 2 voet  
Sijfloit 1 1/2 foet  
Scherp 3 sterk  
Dulciaen 8 voet  
Pedael (Henk van Eeken, 2002)
Bardon 16 voet  
Basuin 16 voet  
Octav 8 voet  
Cornet 4 foet  
Tremulant (MA+BP)    
Tremulant (PD)    
Koppeling BP-MA    
Koppeling MA-PD    
Koppeling BP-PD    
Tuning : St. Cosmae, Stade (modified meantone), f(a')=469 Hz


About this virtual organ

Recordings have been made in 24bit/96kHz using Schoeps CMC6 xt microphones and high end RME Preamps. Processing has been done at the Lab Six sound&media solutions studio in Heilbronn, Germany ( with the MLP (multi layer processing) system. Mastering and monitoring has been done on Adam Audio S2.5A speakers.









Graphical User Interface



Sound demonstration

D. Buxtehude - Praeludium in d moll (BuxWV 140)

D. Buxtehude - Nun komm der Heiden Heiland (BuxWV 211)

D. Buxtehude - Partita 'Auf meinem lieben Gott' (BuxWV 179) (part 1)

D. Buxtehude - Partita 'Auf meinem lieben Gott' (BuxWV 179) (part 2)

D. Buxtehude - Partita 'Auf meinem lieben Gott' (BuxWV 179) (part 3)

D. Buxtehude - Partita 'Auf meinem lieben Gott' (BuxWV 179) (part 4)

D. Buxtehude - Partita 'Auf meinem lieben Gott' (BuxWV 179) (part 5)

D. Buxtehude - Komm heiliger Geist, Herre Gott (BuxWV 199)

J. S. Bach - Praeludium in e moll (BWV 533)

J. S. Bach - Fuga in e moll (BWV 533)

J. S. Bach - Choral 'Auf meinen lieben Gott' (BWV 646)

J. S. Bach - Choral 'Wer nur den lieben Gott lasst walten' (BWV 647)

J. S. Bach - Choral 'Meine Seele erhebt den Herren' (BWV 648)

J. S. Bach - Kommst du nun, Jesu, vom Himmel herunter (BWV 650)

J. S. Bach - Praeludium in d moll (BWV 539)

J. S. Bach - Fuga in d moll (BWV 539)

J. S. Bach - Choral 'Nun komm der Heiden Heiland' (BWV 659)

J. S. Bach - 'Dorian' Toccata in d (BWV 538)

J. S. Bach - 'Dorian' Fuga in d (BWV 538)




Latest version 1.02